top of page

Personal Bill of Rights

Updated: Jul 3, 2018

I want to share this list. Somehow I received it when I was in my 30's and it effected me so much I actually slept with a tattered copy that after carrying it around by day - I hung by my bed at night. I remember showing it to my dear friend, a native american elder. After reading it, she said to me 'Of course, Sarah, you have these rights - I think everyone knows this'. I did not know this but it was like a breathe of freedom to me. Enjoy.


Personal Bill of Rights I have the right to express all my feelings, positive or negative. I have the right to ask for what I want I have the right to determine my own priorities I have the right to not be responsible for other people’s behaviours, actions, feelings, or problems. I have the right to say “no” to others without feeling guilty. I have the right to take time to slow down and think. I have the right to be uniquely myself or “my own person”. I have the right to say, “I don’t know”. I have the right to make decisions based on my feelings I have the right to be in a non-abusive relationship. I have the right to make mistakes I have the right to be safe I have the right to put myself first. I have the right to dignity and respect I have the right to love and be loved I have the right to be human-not perfect I have the right to my own personal space and time I have the right to privacy I have the right to be angry and protest if I am treated unfairly. I have the right to earn and control my own money I have the right to grow and change, including changing my mind. I have the right to decide if and when, I choose to forgive my mistakes or anyone else’s mistakes I have the right to be happy.






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page